Inductees Archive


The original LeFevre Trio was formed in 1921 in Smithville, Tennessee, by Alphus, his brother Urias and sister Maude. The group used the name of the BTS Quartet from 1929-32 while attending Bible Training School (not Lee College) in Cleveland, Tennessee, consisting then of Alphus, Urias, B.C. Robinson and James McCoy, who also sang with the Homeland Harmony Quartet. Eva Mae joined the group in 1934 when she was married to Urias, and the group has been a family affair ever since. During the early ’40s the group experienced widespread popularity, with Jim “Pappy” Waits as bass singer and Hovie Lister on piano for a time, before leaving to form The Statesmen. One of the most revered incarnations of the group included Urias and Eva Mae’s son Pierce LeFevre, Jimmy Jones and Rex Nelon in 1960. Pierce’s brother Mylon, who wrote the classic “Without Him” at age 17, spent several years with the group in the ’60s and ’70s and went on to become a leader in the contemporary Christian music arena. The vision is being passed on to the third generation in the form of Mylon’s son-in-law, Peter Furler, the driving force behind the Christian rock group Newsboys. Rex Nelon took over the reigns of the group in the ’70s and is still functions today under the name The Nelons. Now in her 80s, Eva Mae LeFevre still regularly performs.


Induction Year






Noted Members

  • Alphus LeFevre
  • Urias LeFevre
  • Maude LeFevre
  • Eva Mae LeFevre


  • accordion
  • violin
  • trumpet
  • bass
  • guitar
  • piano
  • organ


TV Programs

The Gospel Singing Caravan, The LeFevre Show


Significant Songs

“Without Him”



The LeFevres singing “Keep Walking”


The LeFevres singing “I’m Longing For Home